MOUNT VERNON — Mount Vernon City Council extended the public participation portion of its legislative meeting to allow residents more time to discuss any matters of city relevance. In an effort to further extend their availability to the citizens of Mount Vernon, council will hold Coffee with Council, monthly conversations with the public beginning in February.

Coffee with Council will take place on the third Saturday of each month from 8:30-10 a.m. at Everlasting Cup, 510 S. Main St.

“In our organizational meeting, it was clear this new council has a strong desire to be available and transparent with our constituency,” said Samantha Scoles, First Ward representative and chair for the Employee and Community Relations Committee. “Bringing back a program started by President Bruce Hawkins years ago is a direct result of our commitment to the people we represent to keep open lines of communication and have a clear understanding of what the residents want and need.”

Dates for 2020 are set for Feb. 15, March 21, April 18, May 16, June 20, July 18, Aug. 15, Sept. 19, Oct. 17, Nov. 21 and Dec. 19.

Participants are encouraged to use parking in the north and south areas of the parking lot at Everlasting Cup.

Council members are:

Bruce E. Hawkins, president, bhawkins@mountvernonohio.org, 740-392-8106.

Samantha Scoles, First Ward, sscoles@mountvernonohio.org, 740-263-1263.

John Francis, Second Ward, jfrancis@mountvernonohio.org, 740-392-7146.

Tammy Woods, Third Ward, twoods@mountvernonohio.org, 740-504-8262.

Mike Hillier, Fourth Ward, mhillier@mountvernonohio.org, 740-397-7548.

Tanner Salyers, At-Large, tsalyers@mountvernonohio.org, 740-616-8731.

Julia Warga, At-Large, jwarga@mountvernonohio.org, 740-358-0570.

Janis Seavolt, At-Large, jseavolt@mountvernonohio.org, 740-397-0541.

Council agendas are available at http://mountvernoncityoh.iqm2.com/citizens/default.aspx.

 

Mount Vernon News: 740-397-5333 or news@mountvernonnews.com and on Twitter, @mountvernonnews