COLUMBUS — Caleb Gallwitz led a strong contingent of East Knox football players on the All-Central District team, released Wednesday.

All Central District

Kadden Lester East Knox 1st Team
Trey Brininger Cardington 1st Team
Nick McAvoy Cardington 1st Team
Hayden Hankinson Centerburg 1st Team
Ian McKnight Centerburg 1st Team
Donnell Marshall Centerburg 1st Team
Trey Kendrick Centerburg 1st Team
Ellis Grizenko Centerburg 1st Team
Tyler Wilson Danville 1st Team
Langdon Johnson Danville 1st Team
Caleb Gallwitz East Knox 1st Team
Gage Steinmetz East Knox 1st Team
Treyton Slone East Knox 1st Team
Luke Grosscup East Knox 1st Team
Dawson David East Knox 1st Team
Weston Melick East Knox 1st Team
Braden Kannady East Knox 1st Team
Alec Ziegman Fredericktown 1st Team
Turner Harmon Highland 1st Team
Jack Weaver Highland 1st Team
Cam Cutrone Highland 1st Team
Wyatt Hornsby Highland 1st Team
Owen Blanton Mt Gilead 1st Team
Brandon Planey Northmor 1st Team
Hunter Marrioti Northmor 1st Team
Blake Miller Northmor 1st Team
Wyatt Reeder Northmor 1st Team
Logan Randolph Northmor 1st Team
Jack Gregory Centerburg 2nd Team
Hayden Sutton Centerburg 2nd Team
Andrew Waddell Centerburg 2nd Team
Holden Cochran Centerburg 2nd Team
John Weckesser Danville 2nd Team
Brent Reed Danville 2nd Team
Charlie Cook Danville 2nd Team
Kaden Bates East Knox 2nd Team
Caiden Slone East Knox 2nd Team
Ian Toller East Knox 2nd Team
Shane Knepp East Knox 2nd Team
Cade Leach East Knox 2nd Team
Corey Webb Fredericktown 2nd Team
Terry Fearn Fredericktown 2nd Team
Josh Reid Highland 2nd Team
Garrison Hankins Highland 2nd Team
Landon Remmert Highland 2nd Team
Brady Mermann Mt Gilead 2nd Team
Nate Rogers Mt Gilead 2nd Team
Jacob Simmons Mt Gilead 2nd Team
Garrett Lamb-Hart Mt Gilead 2nd Team
Joel Butterman Mt Gilead 2nd Team
Gavin Ramos Northmor 2nd Team
Hunter Brookover Northmor 2nd Team
Austin Hammond Northmor 2nd Team
Trenton Ramos Northmor 2nd Team
Hayden Sutton Centerburg All Academic
Charlie Cook Danville All Academic
Dawson David East Knox All Academic
Terry Fearn Fredericktown All Academic
Jack Weaver Highland All Academic
Nate Rogers Mt Gilead All Academic
Conor Becker Northmor All Academic
Cody Reese East Knox Coach of the Year
Nate Hickman Cardington Honorable Mention
Garrett Campos Centerburg Honorable Mention
Nick O'Dell Danville Honorable Mention
Raymond Snyder East Knox Honorable Mention
Jeremiah McKinley Fredericktown Honorable Mention
Cody Matthews Highland Honorable Mention
Andy Williamson Mt Gilead Honorable Mention
Ethan Trainer Northmor Honorable Mention
Caleb Gallwitz East Knox Player of the Year

Gallwitz was named Offensive Player of the Year in Division VI, as chosen by a panel of media. The 6-foot, 195-pound senior rushed for 2,253 yards and scored 43 touchdowns in leading the Bulldogs to a perfect 10-0 record and a spot in the Division VI state playoffs. He also caught eight passes for 81 yards.

Joining Gallwitz on first team offense were teammates Kadden Lester at quarterback, Gage Steinmetz at receiver and Luke Grosscup at offensive lineman.

Lester threw for 1,639 yards and 20 touchdowns, while Gallwitz caught 49 passes for 674 yards and eight touchdowns.

Also named to the first team offense from the area were Centerburg running back Donnell Marshall (1,028 yards, 17 TDs) and offensive lineman Hayden Hankinson. Northmor had three on first team offense, including quarterback Hunter Mariotti (1,787 yards passing, 22 TDs), receiver Gavin Ramos (44 catches, 537 yards, 7 TDs) and lineman Brandon Planey.

On the defensive side, Northmor’s Blake Miller was named Defensive Player of the year. Miller, a lineman, recorded 50 tackles, including four for loss, seven sacks and forced two fumbles.

Joining Miller on the first team defense were teammates Logan Randolph at defensive back (34 tackles, 6 interceptions) and linebacker Wyatt Reeder (106 tackles, 2 interceptions).

East Knox had two named first team defense — linebacker Dawson David (101 tackles, 6 sacks) and punter Cade Leach (44.3 yard average).

Also named first team defense were defensive back Terry Fearn of Fredericktown (33 tackles, 3 interceptions), defensive back Owen Blanton of Mount Gilead (70 tackles, 4 interceptions) and lineman Nick McAvoy of Cardington.

Several were named special mention — Trey Brininger of Cardington, Jack Gregory, Ellis Grizenko, Tyler Johnson, Trey Kendrick and Hayden Sutton of Centerburg, Braden Kannady, Shane Knepp, Weston Melick and Treyton Slone of East Knox, and Nate Rogers of Mount Gilead.

Mount Vernon had two offensive players and one defensive player named to the first team in Division II.

Running back Wyatt Gregory was named first team after setting a school record with 2,041 yards rushing, while Austin Kerr was named first team offensive lineman. Ryan Tiell was named first team after recording 69 tackles at safety/linebacker.

Will Small (72 tackles) was named second team linebacker, while Triston Bowens, Easton Groom and Ethan Laslo were all named honorable mention.

In Division VII, Danville got two members of its offense and one on its defense named first team.

Langdon Johnson (39 catches, 435 yards) was named first team wide receiver, while Tyler Wilson got the nod on the offensive line. Deion Parker (71 tackles) was named first team as a defensive back.

Alex Holt and Brent Reed were both named special mention.

Highland had two players named to the first team in Division IV, while Utica had one.

Highland’s Jack Weaver (952 yards) was named first team running back, while teammate Wyatt Hornsby (64 tackles) was named first team defensive back. Utica’s Ethan Adams (37 catches, 513 yards) was named first team at wide receiver.

Named special mention were Turner Hammond, Cam Cutrone and Josh Reid of Highland, as well as Clayton Cummons, Brier Harris and Tanner Parsons of Utica.


Mount Vernon News: 740-397-5333 or and on Twitter, @mountvernonnews



Next Story