IRVING, Texas — The National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame (NFF) announced Wednesday that five members of the Kenyon College football program made the 2019 NFF Hampshire Honor Society, which is comprised of players from all NCAA divisions who each maintained a cumulative 3.2 grade point average or better throughout their college careers.

The Kenyon contingent included Josh Abrams, Taaj Davis, Rob Meagher, Ian Robertson and Herbert Wakefield.

An all-time high of 1,643 players from a record 424 schools qualified for membership in the society’s 13th year. Nominated by their respective schools, members of the NFF Hampshire Honor Society completed their final year of playing eligibility in 2018, achieved a 3.2 cumulative grade point average throughout entire course of undergraduate study, and were starters or significant contributors throughout the 2018 season.

Abrams, Davis and Wakefield were all part of the Lords’ defensive secondary. Abrams made 32 tackles and had three pass-breaks last season, bringing his career totals to 55 tackles and with five passes defended. Davis piled up 62 career tackles with 28 takedowns, two break-ups and one interception registered last season. Wakefield, who was named a Scholar-Athlete award-winner by the Columbus Chapter of the NFF, finished his Kenyon career with 27 tackles and two pass break-ups.

Meagher and Robertson played on the other side of the ball. A running back, Meagher ran for 329 yards and a touchdown in the 2018 season, bringing his career totals to 966 yards and three touchdowns. Robertson, a receiver, set the Kenyon single-season record with 101 receptions in 2018. He covered 1,203 yards and scored five times. For his career, Robertson piled up 235 catches for 2,754 yards and 21 touchdowns.


Mount Vernon News: 740-397-5333 or and on Twitter, @mountvernonnews




Rules: Please keep your comments smart and civil. Don’t attack other commenters personally and keep your language decent. If a comment violates our comments standards, click the “X” in the upper right corner of the comment box to report abuse. To post comments, you must be a Facebook member.