John Wareham/News The 1999 Fredericktown volleyball team was one of three volleyball squads inducted into the Fredericktown Athletics Hall of Fame Saturday at Fredericktown High School.
John Wareham/News
The 1999 Fredericktown volleyball team was one of three volleyball squads inducted into the Fredericktown Athletics Hall of Fame Saturday at Fredericktown High School.

* * *

FREDERICKTOWN — Fredericktown High School had its first Athletics Hall of Fame ceremony in six years on Saturday night and it shined a light on one of the strongest programs the school has had in the last 20 years.

The Fredericktown girls volleyball program had the most inductees of the night, with four individuals and three teams inducted — all from the 1999 to 2002 timespan.

The other inductees included players or teams from cross country and track, football and basketball. They included several school-record holders and/or state qualifiers.

Volleyball player Lindsay Fearn Gladman, who graduated in 2000, was voted first-team All-League and first-team All-District and was selected as the Best Defensive Player with 224 digs in 1997. Ashley Lester Myers graduated in 2002 and was voted third-team all-Ohio, first-team All-District and first-team All-League and played competitively at Ohio State.

Two 2003 graduates, Shena Beheler and Kelsey Zollars Budd, were also inducted individually for volleyball. Beheler was MBC Player of the Year and then played for Mount Vernon Nazarene University, where she earned a Wall of Fame honor, and Budd also earned first-team All-League and All-District honors while at Fredericktown. Budd also helped the 4×400 meter relay team place fourth at state and it set a school record in 2002.

“It helps revisit what we had back with those girls,” coach Marilyn Rutherford said about the induction ceremony. “(We had) extreme competitiveness, a lot of success, a lot of fun. When you bring them back for an event like this it just sparks up those memories.”

Along with the individuals, the 1999, 2000 and 2002 volleyball teams were included in the ceremony and each of the teams had three of four indivdual honorees on it at one time. The 1999 squad went 22-1 and was a regional qualifier and the 2000 and 2002 teams each went 21-4, were district champions and regional runners-up.

“I just think it says a lot about the program as a whole,” coach Dawn Carpenter Toombs said about the large contingent of volleyball inductees. “Throughout the years we’ve had very talented girls go through. They put in a lot of time and work to improve the game. Just by the number that came back for the banquet that were here, they were a tight group, they were close and have great friendships.”

The boys basketball program had two inductees that included 1990 graduate Matt Smith, who was voted to the All-Ohio Div. III team as a senior and then played at Otterbein, and 2013 graduate Ryan Logan, who holds the school scoring record with 1,501 points and now plays professionally in Germany after excelling at Stonehill College.

“Obviously there were a bunch of great athletes who got inducted today so its a pleasure to be inducted amongst the best,” said Logan, who was one of the two youngest inductees of the group and didn’t have to wait long, graduating only six years ago. While in high school, Logan was voted the Mount Vernon News Player of the Year twice and he now plays for the German team SC Rist Wedel, where he led the team in scoring this past season.

Several cross country and track teams were inducted into the Hall of Fame, as were several individuals.

Staci Shira Matthews (1991) was also involved in the volleyball program at Fredericktown and then played at Mount Vernon Nazarene College (now University) but she was inducted as an individual on the track and field team, after she was selected all-MOC in the 400-meter dash and long jump and set the school record in the long jump.

Nathan Cubbage (2011) was inducted as an track athete also after he was the MBC and district high jump champion and helped set a school record in the 4×200 relay. He also holds the school record for the most interceptions in a season (9) in football.

Delaney McGuire (2010) was voted MBC Runner of the Year in cross country as well being selected for the All-District and All-Regional teams and he qualified for state in both the 4×800 and 800 meter run. He was inducted individually and as part of the 2010 4×800 team that also included Sean Kennedy, Isaac Potes and Jamison Shipley. Along with the indivuals and the 4×800 team, the 1994 girls and 2004 boys cross country teams were inducted along with the 1982 4×400 meter relay team, which included Ty Pritchett, Mark Renicker, Joe Vaughn and Greg Ebersole.

Sarah Fowler (2013) and Jennifer Singrey Rodgers (1993) were inducted for running also.

Fowler set school records in the 3200 and 1600 meter runs and finished 14th at the state meet in cross country and third in the 3200 at state in track and field.

Singrey Rodgers set a record in the 100-meter hurdles in 1992 and was voted Most Valuable Competitor at the Mount Vernon News Specktrackular in 1993. She also placed second at state in the 300 meter hurdles in 1993.

Preston Leedy (1960) and Tony Lybarger (2011) were the two individual football players inducted.

Leedy was the quarterback and led to the team to 19 straight wins, including the undefeated 1958 season, and Lybarger was voted first-team, All-District and first-team All-MBC when he played.

The 2009 football team was also inducted as a whole and it included Lybarger, Cubbage and Logan.

Athena Wolfe Maynor (1996) earned first-team, All-District and first-team All-NCC honors in basketball and played both basketball and volleyball in college. She was inducted as a basketball player.


John Wareham: 740-397-5333 or and on Twitter, @mountvernonnews



Next Story


Rules: Please keep your comments smart and civil. Don’t attack other commenters personally and keep your language decent. If a comment violates our comments standards, click the “X” in the upper right corner of the comment box to report abuse. To post comments, you must be a Facebook member.