MOUNT VERNON — Five area players were honored by the Ohio Prep Sportswriters Association by being recognized with all-state talent for their efforts on the hardwood this winter.

Cardington’s Casey Bertke paced area players by being named to the First Team in Division III. The Pirate racked up 556 points on the year to average 22.2 per game. She shot 56.8 percent from the field and 59.6 percent from the stripe. She packed her stat line with 10.6 rebounds, 2.5 steals, 2.3 blocks and 1.2 assists per game.

Utica’s Emily Londot was also recognized in DIII by being named to the Second Team. The junior amassed 426 points for a 20.3 point-per-game average. She shot 57.4 percent on field goals, 63.0 percent on free throws and even splashed home 6 of 15 (40 percent) 3-pointers on the year. Londot averaged 14.2 boards, 2.7 steals and 3.0 blocks per game.

Bertke was not the only Pirate recognized, as teammate Kynlee Edwards earned special mention. She averaged 11.0 points per game (276), while splashing home 32 treys and 102 of her 280 total shots. She nailed 40 of 61 at the line. A lot of her energy came on the defensive end of the floor, where she amassed 4.6 steals per game, while also tallying 1.2 boards, 3.2 assists and 0.4 blocks per game.

Staying in DIII, Mount Gilead junior Madison Fitzpatrick earned honorable mention, leading her team with 16.5 points per game with 363 total points on the year. She knocked down 35.1 percent from the floor and 67.9 percent on free throws (95 of 140). Rounding out her nightly stat line, Fitzpatrick averaged 3.4 boards, 3.0 assists and 3.0 steals.

Danville was not shut out in Division IV. Junior CeCe Newbold led the Blue Devils with 12.2 points per game on 36.2 percent shooting. She also nailed 63 of 98 on free throws (64.3 percent). In the post, Newbold racked up 7.5 boards a game, while also averaging 1.0 assists and 1.1 steals per outing.

In DIV, Samatha Whiteman (Covington) earned Player of the Year, while Mark Combs (Xenia Legacy Christian) was the top coach. Africentric’s Jordan Horston and Waynesville’s Tim Gabbard earned player and coach honors in DIII, respectively. Zia Cooke (Toledo Rogers) was Player of the Year in Division II and Kevin Cornell (New Philadelphia) was Coach of the year. Division I’s player and coach honors went to Kierstan Bell, Canton McKinley, and Dave Zvara, Avon Lake, respectively.


Erick Starkey: 740-397-5333 or and on Twitter, @mvnstarkey




Rules: Please keep your comments smart and civil. Don’t attack other commenters personally and keep your language decent. If a comment violates our comments standards, click the “X” in the upper right corner of the comment box to report abuse. To post comments, you must be a Facebook member.