MOUNT VERNON — With a successful regular season in the books, the Knox-Morrow Athletic Conference recently handed out its awards for winter sports.

In boys’ basketball, sophomore Carter Jones of Centerburg and senior Kynlee Edwards of Cardington earned the top honor as boys’ and girls’ Player of the Year. Jones averaged 16.3 points and 8.3 rebounds a game, each ranking second in the KMAC, and was also second in the conference with 2.1 steals per game. Overall, Jones shot 44.1 percent from the floor and made 1.9 assists per game. Jones was recently named First Team Division IV All-Central District.

Edwards was a big contributor for the Pirates, having won a conference championship in all of her four seasons. An elite defender, she averaged 4.8 steals per game, and was second on her team with 12.4 points per game. She shot 40.7 percent from the field, 67.5 percent from the free-throw line and 29.5 percent from behind the arc while also dishing out a team-best 3.6 assists per game.

Chris Powell of Highland was selected as the boys’ Coach of the Year, and Cardington’s Jaime Edwards was chosen as the girls’ Coach of the Year. Powell won the KMAC with a 12-2 season record, two games ahead of Fredericktown, with a defense that gave up only 38 points per game to league opponents.

Edwards claimed his second straight KMAC crown with a perfect 14-0 mark, defeating opponents by an average of 36 points per game. The Pirates won several conference victories by at least 50 points, and finished five games ahead of second-place Highland.

All-Academic honors went to two Fredericktown seniors, Nick Cunningham and Sophie Lester.

Other boys’ First-Team selections were Corbin Hazen (Danville), Weston Melick (East Knox), Nick Cunningham (Fredericktown), Mack Anglin (Highland), Mason Mollohan (Mount Gilead) and Blake Miller (Northmor).

Second Team honorees were Trey Brininger (Cardington), Hayden Hankinson (Centerburg), Dylan James (Danville), Lincoln Cunningham (Fredericktown), Andrew Wheeler (Highland) and Jackson Huffer (Mount Gilead); and Honorable Mention went to Danny Vaught (Cardington), Mick Mead (Centerburg), Skyler Moore (Danville), Anthony Gilmore (East Knox), Jake Partington (Fredericktown), Chase Carpenter (Highland), Nick Dyer (Mount Gilead) and Cole Dille (Northmor).

Girls’ First Teamers included Casey Bertke (Cardington), Savannah Gammell (Centerburg), CeCe Newbold (Danville), Meggan Bartok (East Knox), Madison Cecil (Highland) and Madison Fitzpatrick (Mount Gilead).

Second Team accolades were awarded to Paige Clinger (Cardington), Ally Bower (Danville), Lester (Fredericktown), Gena West (Highland), Holly Gompf (Mount Gilead) and Addie Farley (Northmor); and Hannah Wickline (Cardington), Grace Mulpas (Centerburg), Brooklyn Hess (Danville), Alexandria Magers (East Knox), Olivia Mast (Fredericktown), Raven Tilford (Highland), Dakota Shipman (Mount Gilead) and Juliana DiTullio (Northmor) earned Honorable Mention.


Mount Vernon News: 740-397-5333 or and on Twitter, @mountvernonnews