MONROE TOWNSHIP — Eight Monroe Township residents have expressed interest in the soon to be vacated trustee seat held by Bill Pursel.

Township residents John Alberts, John Cannon, Todd Davis, Andy Franks, Eric Rayburn, Tim Tyson, Danny Woods and Wayne Zollars will be interviewed for Pursel’s seat, Trustee Kevin Henthorn said.

All but one of the candidates was at Monday’s meeting of the Monroe Township Trustees. Several handed in resumes.

Pursel was elected Knox County Commissioner in the November election. His term begins Jan. 1, 2019. The unexpired term for the trustee’s seat ends Dec. 31, 2021.

Pursel said he expects to be sworn in to office as commissioner Dec. 21.

Henthorn said interviews will be conducted over the next few weeks at the township building. The only requirement for office is residence in Monroe Township, Henthorn said.

The hope is to have an appointment ready Dec. 21, Henthorn said.

The appointee will serve through the end of Pursel’s term, and will have to run for re-election.


Nick Sabo: 740-397-5333 or and on Twitter, @mountvernonnews



Previous Story


Rules: Please keep your comments smart and civil. Don’t attack other commenters personally and keep your language decent. If a comment violates our comments standards, click the “X” in the upper right corner of the comment box to report abuse. To post comments, you must be a Facebook member.