MOUNT VERNON — The Ohio Central District and the Knox-Morrow Athletic Conference both recently announced their postseason volleyball honorees, with several local girls making the list.

Starting in Division II, Highland had two players named to the all-district first-team in senior Bridget Oder and junior Raina Terry. Sophomore Makenna Belcher was placed on the second-team, while junior Gena West earned an honorable mention slot. Scot coach Rob Terrill was named a coach of the year for the central district in DII.

Terry handled business in KMAC action this year, earning the player of the year distinction. Oder was first-team KMAC, while Belcher and West were second-team. Ashlynn Belcher was placed as an honorable mention in the league.

Utica junior Emily Londot was named as one of the central district players of the year this fall in Division III. Taygan Young earned a spot on the second-team and Lexi Cunningham was honorable mention for the district.

Freddie Kelsey Boeshart earned a slot on the DIII all-district list. Her teammates, Lindsey Boeshart and Olivia Mast, were both on the second-team. All three Fredericktown girls were on the same teams at the league level, with Raven Clagg stepping in to a honorable mention spot. Fredericktown coach Shena Beheler was named the KMAC coach of the year for volleyball.

Leading the charge for the Bulldogs, Ashley VanHoose was named all-district as a senior libero. Also at the district level, Meggan Bartok earned a slot as an honorable mention. In the KMAC, VanHoose was named to the first-team, while Hallie Rine earned second team. Bartok was an honorable mention, while Sydney Buckingham was the sport’s all-academic player for the league.

Centerburg had two representatives for the central district, with Taylor Scowden and Halle’ Moreland both earning a spot on the second-team. In the KMAC, Scowden was named to the second-team and Moreland was on the honorable mention list.

Danville had Madison Elliott named to the KMAC first-team, while Ally Bower earned a spot as an honorable mention. Mount Vernon’s Lily Burnside grabbed an honorable mention slot for the central district in Division I.

Cardington’s Paige Clinger and Hannah Wickline led the Pirates with first-team nods for the district. Kyleigh Bonnette was also named honorable mention at the district level. In the KMAC awards, Clinger was first-team, while Wickline was second-team and Bonnette was honorable mention.

Anna Donner and Leslie Brubaker both earned a spot on all-district for Northmor. Fellow Knight Aly Blunk was named to the second-team. Brubaker and Donner were both first-team KMAC, while Blunk was second team and Macy Miracle occupying an honorable mention spot.

Mount Gilead’s Jessica Brewer was named honorable mention KMAC.


Erick Starkey: 740-397-5333 or and on Twitter, @MVNStarkey




Rules: Please keep your comments smart and civil. Don’t attack other commenters personally and keep your language decent. If a comment violates our comments standards, click the “X” in the upper right corner of the comment box to report abuse. To post comments, you must be a Facebook member.