MOUNT VERNON — A panel of selected media members around the central district met and decided upon the postseason football honors all seven divisions of football teams in the central district.

Division II

Ryan Tiell, with 81 tackles, nine tackles for loss and four passes defended, was one of Mount Vernon’s two first-teamers. Noah Hubbard was the division’s first-team punter, averaging 38.8 yards per punt on the year. Austin Kerr earned a spot on the second-team offense as an offensive lineman, finishing the year without a sack allowed.

Whitehall’s Raymell Byrd earned offensive player of the year. He finished the season with 898 passing yards and five touchdowns, while also running for 1,562 yards and 23 touchdowns. Canal Winchester’s Darren Davis, notching 123 tackles, 11 tackles for loss, five pass breakups and a forced fumble, was the defensive player of the year. Whitehall coach Rod Lightfoot was the division’s coach of the year.

Division IV

Highland was well represent in Division IV with four first-team members. Starting on offense, running back Brody Matthews (914 rushing yards, 11 touchdowns) and offensive lineman Chase Carpenter (graded 94 percent, 19 pancakes) both earned first-team recognition. Flipping to the other side of the trenches, Joey Scaffidi, with 23 tackles, 8.5 tackles for loss and six sacks, earned first-team defense honors. Tate Tobin joined Scaffidi on the first-team defense as a linebacker, finishing the regular season with 58 tackles, two sacks, 7.5 tackles for loss and 1 pass breakup.

Highland also had three honorable mention players in defensive back Jarin Vasquez, running back Jack Weaver and running back Brock Veley.

Utica had three first-teamers. Mack Marston finished the year with 454 receiving yards, 362 rushing yards and 178 passing yards with 10 total touchdowns to earn the honor as a receiver. Robby Lowe was dubbed a first-teamer as a offensive lineman, while Garrett Meyers (56 tackles, two sacks, four tackles for loss and two interceptions) was honored as a linebacker. Logan Reedy earned an honorable mention distinction.

London swept the player of the year honors. Running back K.J. Price, with 2,219 rushing yards and 35 touchdowns was named offensive player of the year. Bricker Thiel was named defensive player of the year with 88 tackles, 13 QB pressures, four sacks and four interceptions. Bloom-Carroll coach Wade Bartholomew was named coach of the year.

Division V

Fredericktown was shut out on the first-team lists, but had three second-teamers. Terry Fearn was named second-team offense as a quarterback, finishing the year with 748 yards and eight touchdowns through the air, with another 470 yards rushing. A pair of Freddie linebackers in Jack Fitzpatrick (50 tackles, pick-six) and John Robbins (51 tackles, two sacks) were both named second-team defense.

Johnstown’s Bryce Barasch, with 1,667 yards and 21 touchdowns on the ground, was the division’s offensive player of the year. Pleasant defensive lineman Brayden Stark earned defensive player of the year, packing his stat line with 82 tackles, 25 tackles for loss and 14 sacks.

Division VI

East Knox contributed five players to the offensive and defensive first-teams. Kadden Lester was one of three quarterbacks on the first-team, finishing the year with 2,378 yards and 21 touchdowns through the air. Bulldog running back Kasson Krownapple was a first-teamer with a stat line of 1,397 rushing yards, 342 receiving yards and 32 total touchdowns. Caleb Gallwitz was the third offensive first-teamer for East Knox, recording 973 yards and nine touchdowns as a receiver this fall.

A pair of Bulldog linebackers were both named to the defensive first-team. Weston Melick had 110 tackles, five tackles for loss and three sacks, while Dawson David finished the year with 88 tackles, 13 tackles for loss, five hurries and a fumble recovery.

Gage Steinmetz earned honorable mention for DVI.

Linebacker Stephen Schmitt, with 79.5 tackles, 10.5 tackles for loss, 1.5 sacks, three fumble recoveries and a forced fumble, was the lone Trojan on the first-team. Gabe Dickerson, Hayden Hankinson and John Sheasby were all named honorable mention.

Mount Gilead’s Mason Mollohan was a first-team defensive lineman. Fellow Indians Garrett Casto and Tristin Seitz were named honorable mention.

Northmor’s Conor Becker, with 1,931 yards and 33 touchdowns on the ground, earned the division’s offensive player of the year distinction. He was joined on the first-team by other Knights in D’Marcus Hudson, Brandon Planey and Blake Miller. Hunter Mariotti and Wyatt Reeder were both honorable mention.

Joining Becker as player of the year, Fairbanks’ Charlie Scheiderer was defensive player of the year, finishing the season with 134 tackles, 34 tackles for loss, three sacks, two forced fumbles and two interceptions. Fairbanks coach Patrick Cotter was chosen as the coach of the year.

Division VII

Six Blue Devils made the Division VII first-team. Dalton David’s 1,569 passing yards and 16 touchdowns, along with 235 rushing yards and seven ground scores earned him the honor. Running back Chris Greenawalt amassed 698 yards and seven scores, while Corbin Hazen had 690 receiving yards, 183 rushing yards and eight total touchdowns, both making it on the first-team offense.

On defense, Alex Holt earned a first-team spot with 77 tackles, two sacks, four tackles for loss, three interceptions and five pass breakups. In the trenches, Trenton Vernon, with 139 tackles, three sacks, four tackles for loss, one fumble recovery, one forced fumble and two bat downs, and Dylan Wilson, with 76 tackles, six sacks, 18 tackles for loss, one fumble recovery, one forced fumble and one bat down, both earned first-team.

Ethan Hawk and Brad Wilson both earned honorable mention.

Cardington had a trio of players on the first-team offense in running back Mason Goers, lineman Nick McAvoy and kicker Brendon Steckel.

Harvest Prep’s Daquan Owens-Johnson, with 1,027 yards and 16 touchdowns on the ground, was named the offensive player of the year. Chaz Dickerson of Berne Union earned defensive player of the year with 102 tackles, 15 tackles for loss, three forced fumbles, one fumble recovery and three sacks. Berne Union coach Tony Hurps was named coach of the year.


Erick Starkey: 740-397-5333 or and on Twitter, @MVNStarkey




Rules: Please keep your comments smart and civil. Don’t attack other commenters personally and keep your language decent. If a comment violates our comments standards, click the “X” in the upper right corner of the comment box to report abuse. To post comments, you must be a Facebook member.