MOUNT VERNON — Knox County Executive Director for Farm Service Agency, Katie Hill, encourages eligible voters to participate in this year’s county committee election.

The 2017 FSA County Committee Elections began on Nov. 6, when ballots were mailed to eligible voters. The deadline to return the ballots to local FSA offices is Dec. 4.

County committee members are an important component of the operations of FSA and provide a link between the agricultural community and USDA. Farmers and producers elected to county committees help deliver FSA programs at the local level, applying their knowledge and judgment to make decisions on commodity price support programs; conservation programs; incentive indemnity and disaster programs for some commodities; emergency programs and eligibility. FSA committees operate within official regulations designed to carry out federal laws.

To be an eligible voter, farmers and producers must participate or cooperate in an FSA program. A person who is not of legal voting age, but supervises and conducts the farming operations of an entire farm may also be eligible to vote.

This year’s election is in Area 3, including the following townships; Berlin, Pike, Brown, Jefferson, Monroe, Howard and Union. Eligible voters in local administrative area 3, who do not receive a ballot, can obtain one from their local USDA Service Center. Dec. 4 is the last day for voters to submit ballots in person to local USDA Service Centers. Ballots returned by mail must also be postmarked no later than Dec. 4. Newly elected committee members will take office Jan. 1, 2018.

The candidates in this year’s election are: Don Hawk, Greg Magers and Allen Stockberger.

Hawk resides outside of Danville and produced corn, soybeans, wheat and hay for 48 years.

He is an active member of Knox County Farm Bureau and Knox County Sheep Improvement Association and serves as the secretary of the Sheep Improvement Association. Hawk also serves his community as vice president of the Ohio Sheep and Wool board, vice president of the Energy Co-Op, Electric and Natural Gas Co-Op and is president of St. Luke’s Church Council.

Greg Magers resides outside of Howard and produced corn, soybeans, wheat and hay for 31 years.

He is a member of Knox County Farm Bureau, Knox County Ag Museum, Knox County Soil and Water Board and is a member of St. Luke’s Church.

Allen Stockberger resides outside of Gambier and produces popcorn, tofu soybeans and hard winter wheat, and is active with conservation reserve program.

He is an active member of Knox County Farm Bureau, Ohio Department of Agriculture Commodities Advisory Commission board, KNO-HO-CO-Ashland, and is a deacon at Mt. Vernon Seventh Day Adventist Church
More information on county committees, such as the new 2017 fact sheet, can be found on the FSA website at



Rules: Please keep your comments smart and civil. Don’t attack other commenters personally and keep your language decent. If a comment violates our comments standards, click the “X” in the upper right corner of the comment box to report abuse. To post comments, you must be a Facebook member.