Virgil Shipley/Mount Vernon News

This year’s recipients of the Kiwanis’ John Philip Sousa Awards are, from left, Sarah Wheeler, Jesse Hey, Abigayle Kuhn, Elyse Swihart and Cassidy Gebhardt. Request this photo


MOUNT VERNON — The Kiwanis Club of Mount Vernon hosted its annual John Philip Sousa Awards Luncheon Monday at the Gallagher Centre, and honored the top student musician in each of the local high schools for superior musicianship and outstanding dedication.

Winners are Sarah Wheeler, Jesse Hey, Cassidy Gebhardt, Elyse Swihart and Abigayle Kuhn.
Kiwani treasurer Al Allender began the ceremony by giving a brief history of the award. He reminded everyone of how great a musician John Philip Sousa was and emphasized Sousa’s support of school music programs.

The rest of this article is available to Mount Vernon News subscribers. To continue reading, please log in or purchase an e-edition. Login to the e-edition. The article will only be available for thirty (30) days. Try the demo


Pam Schehl: 740-397-5333 or and on Twitter, @mountvernonnews




Rules: Please keep your comments smart and civil. Don’t attack other commenters personally and keep your language decent. If a comment violates our comments standards, click the “X” in the upper right corner of the comment box to report abuse. To post comments, you must be a Facebook member.