Mount Vernon News

By Mount Vernon News
January 10, 2012 2:23 pm EST


MOUNT VERNON — Allen Stockberger will serve as president of the Knox County commissioners in 2012. He was elected to he post by fellow commissioners Teresa Bemiller and Roger Reed Monday at the board’s annual reorganization meeting. Reed will serve as vice president of the panel. Bemiller was president in 2011.

Stockberger, who will be serving his 20th year as a commissioner, said the biggest difference about serving as president is that “you sign your name more often.” In practice, he said, “we work together and share the load.”

He sees the biggest challenge facing the commissioners in the year ahead is still budgetary. The county will have to cope with the loss of Local Government money from the state, but sales tax collections are up and there are upbeat indicators, Stockberger said, enough that the county has asked the bond rating companies to remove the “negative outlook” factor from the county’s bond rating.

“We’re not out of the woods,” he said, “but things are looking a little more comfortable.”

As part of the reorganizations, the commissioners also divided appointments to the various committees the commissioners serve on.

Stockberger will serve on committees for Heart of Ohio Resource Conservation Development, Investment Board, Emergency Management Agency, Station Break, Ohio Public Works Commission (alternate), Area Development Board, Revolving Loan Fund and the County Board of Revision.

Reed will serve on the Local Emergency Planning Commission, Visitors Bureau, DKMM (Delaware, Knox, Morrow and Marion counties) Solid Waste Policy Board, Patriotic Committee, Ohio Public Works Commission and the Investment Board.

Bemiller was named to the Emergency Food and Shelter Board, Family and Children First Council, DKMM Solid Waste Executive Board, DKMM Solid Waste Budget/Audit Committee, Mid-Ohio Transit Authority (MOTA) and the 9-1-1 Board.

Bemiller and Stockberger were also named to the Kno-Ho-Co Community Action Commission for 2012. Rochelle Shackle was reappointed clerk/administrator for the commissioners for 2012.

For the full story, click here for the January 10, 2012 e-edition. The article will only be available for thirty (30) days.

Contact Chuck Martin

Rules: Please keep your comments smart and civil. Don’t attack other commenters personally and keep your language decent.
Copyright 2009 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.